Berkhamstead Woolworths – Store 877

168 High Street, Berkhamstead, Hertfordshire

Woolworths opened in Berkhamstead in 1955. It does look purpose-built (see on the left of the below photo).

Berkhamstead Woolworths 1963

Source: Baker, J

Woolworths was next to Waitrose. On the other side of Woolworths the old building was demolished and a new building erected in a similar style to the Woolworth one. This was a Sketchley store.

Berkhamstead Woolworths c1965

Source: alamy.com

Berkhamstead Woolworths 1970s

Source: Berkhamstead Local History & Museum Society

Berkhamstead Woolworths 1980

Source: Lane, K.

Berkhamstead Woolworths store closed in January 1984. Today the building is occupied by Waterstones.

Berkhamstead Former Woolworths

Source: Waterlogged (ps check out this blog – this lady is on a mission to visit every single Waterstones store in the world!)

I actually visited Berkhamstead in October last year on a vintage bus day. Stopped off here with my family and had a coffee break in this Costa. I didn’t realise we were sitting in the building next to the old Woolworths!

Berkshamstead Former Woolworths

Source: Academy of Urbanism

One Comment Add yours

  1. bagpussjanet says:

    Thanks for linking to my blog about Waterstones. I’ve been doing my quest since 2017 and have fewer than 50 stores left to do. They’re getting harder to do now, though, as they involve longer trips, but I aim to get to the stage where I’ve done all the ones that are ‘live’ on the Waterstones website by the time I’ve done the last one, and then I’ll stop! It’s been great, and we’ve seen some wonderful towns and cities that we’d never have otherwise visited.

    I’m now going to spend a happy (several) hours reading through your wonderful blog, which I have referenced on the Berkhamsted page of mine. How I miss Woolworths!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment